Ashland Seminary to Present Evans, Hybels, Larson at Spring Ministry Conference

Ashland Theological Seminary will present Dr. Tony Evans, Pastor Bill Hybels and Pastor Knute Larson as guest speakers during its annual spring ministry conference and as part of the ATS centennial year celebration.

Titled “Effective Church Ministry in the 21st Century,” the ministry conference will run from Apr. 3-5 on the Ashland, Ohio-based campus.

Evans who is the co-founder and senior pastor of Oak Cliff Bible Fellowship in Dallas, Texas, will open the conference on Apr. 3. He is also the founder and president of The Urban Alternative, a national organization that seeks to bring about spiritual renewal in urban America through the Church. “The Alternative with Dr. Tony Evans” can be heard on more than 500 radio stations throughout the United States and in 40 countries worldwide.

Hybels, senior pastor of Willow Creek Community Church in South Barrington, Ill., will speak the following day. The talk is titled, “Just Walk Across the Room.” The megachurch pastor has written 17 books, including such classics as “Too Busy Not to Pray,” “Becoming a Contagious Christian,” “Courageous Leadership” and “The Volunteer Revolution.”

Larson, senior pastor of The Chapel in Akron and Green, Ohio, will present “The Five Values of a Victor” on Apr. 4 and “Learning the Lessons of Love” on Apr. 5. Larson is the co-founder of “Allies,” a partnership for ministry designed to help reach across racial lines; as well as “Love Akron,” a gathering of pastors and church leaders to pray for the city.

The Chapel has over 300 weekly activities and is “known for its balance on issues and its compassionate care and support of people in need,” according to ATS.

The conference is free and open to the public, but registration is required.

ATS, a division of Ashland University, is the largest seminary in Ohio. The student body is comprised of 800 students representing over 70 denominations and parachurch organizations from almost every state in the nation and 16 foreign countries.