Ben Homan to Lead Voluntary Foreign Aid Committee

The President and CEO of Food for the Hungry has been appointed as the new Chairman for the Advisory Committee on Voluntary Foreign Aid (ACVFA), assuming the role effective Aug. 1.

Andrew S. Natsios, Administrator for the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), said Monday that it was with great pleasure that he appointed Food for the Hungry’s Benjamin Homan as the new Chairman of the ACVFA.

"I appreciate your willingness to serve in this capacity and have every confidence that you will execute these new responsibilities to the benefit of the ACVFA and U.S. Agency for International Development," Natsios told Homan.

As Chairman, Homan will lead meetings that focus on timely topics selected from a wide range of issues and challenges that affect the relationship between the official foreign assistance program and the private voluntary community. Following these deliberations, the ACVFA provides specific recommendations to the USAID Administrator.

“[Homan] has earned a growing reputation for his knowledge of international relief and development issues,” Food for the Hungry reported after Homan’s new appointment.

Over the past three years, Homan has traveled to more than 20 developing countries, experiencing firsthand the problems faced by people in developing nations.

In addition to serving with Food for the Hungry since March 2001 and ACVFA since May 2004, Homan is also currently serving as President of the Association for Evangelical Relief and Development Organizations (AERDO), which brings together 45 major North American evangelical Christian relief and development agencies in an effort to effectively support the Church in serving the poor and needy.

Prior to joining Food for the Hungry, Homan was vice president at Covenant Theological Seminary in St. Louis where he led teams in alumni and church relations, long-range planning, missions and communications. Previously, he worked with Campus Crusade for Christ and taught at the University of Nebraska, University of California-Irvine and Biola University.