Dove Award Hosts Announced

The 36th annual Dove Awards, Gospel music's biggest night of the year, will be hosted by six of gospel music's most popular artists on April 13. Steven Curtis Chapman, CeCe Winans, Smokie Norful, Darlene Zschech, Rebecca St. James, and Israel Houghton will be handing out this year's Dove Awards at Music City's Grand Ole Opry House.

"The GMA Music Awards are an opportunity to celebrate excellence in gospel music, so who better to be the face of the Doves than six artists who have made distinct contributions to the success of gospel music in recent years," said John W. Styll, president of the Gospel Music Association. "CeCe, Darlene, Israel, Rebecca, Smokie and Steven are not only beloved artists, but as a group, they reflect the diversity, creativity and boldness that have helped to raise the profile of gospel music in our culture today."

Styll also announced that the GMA Music Awards would be televised in national syndication during the month of June. Central City Productions of Chicago, Ill., will handle first run syndication through network affiliates and independent stations nationwide, with an expected audience reach of at least 75 percent of U.S. television households. The GMA Music Awards website ? - will provide a regularly updated list of confirmed broadcast times and outlets. The Doves will be offered on several inspirational cable networks after the first-run syndication.

"This year's Doves will be a terrific opportunity for music fans to see all of the artists they love and to hear from their hearts as they accept their industry's highest honors. And, the selected performances will represent the most exciting and entertaining music of the year."