GMA Announces Songwriter Of The Year Awards

The Gospel Music Association (GMA) announced on Monday its final nominees for the prestigious Dove Award for Songwriter of the Year, to be presented at the 36th Annual GMA Music Awards. The final list includes Gerald Crabb, the father of the Crabb Family, Switchfoot front-man Jonathan Foreman, songwriting duo Brendan Graham and Rolf Lovland, and last year’s winner, Casting Crowns’ Mark Hall.

“The Songwriter of the Year is an important honor in gospel music,” said John W. Styll, president of the GMA. “We congratulate these nominees for their songwriting success in the past year, and more significantly, for the many lives they touched with their songwriting gifts.”

In addition to other songs they have written, each songwriter is nominated in the Song of the Year category. Crabb, a prolific Southern Gospel songwriter, wrote the nominated song, “Through the Fire.” Foreman is nominated for two songs this year with “Dare You To Move” and “Meant To Live” both receiving honors in the category. Graham and Lovland wrote the Selah recorded song “You Raise Me Up,” and Hall is nominated this year for “Who Am I.”

The Dove Awards ceremony will be held on April 13th at the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville, TN. Tickets are available at

Founded in 1964, the 4,500-member Gospel Music Association is dedicated to exposing, promoting and celebrating the gospel through music. The GMA represents all styles of gospel music including contemporary pop, rock, urban gospel, praise & worship, Southern gospel, country and children’s gospel music. The GMA produces the GMA Music Awards, which recognizes achievement in all genres of gospel music and are voted on by members of the GMA.