Grammy Awards Present First Annual Salute To Gospel Music

Just as last year’s Grammy Week saw the introduction of the first annual Grammy Salute To Jazz, this years Week will witness the premier the of the first annual Grammy Salute To Gospel Music. The event, which will be featured alongside Salutes to Classical Music and Jazz, is part of a celebration of the recording arts that leads up to “Grammy Sunday.”

"During the days that lead up to the Grammy Awards, individuals from all facets of the music industry come together to celebrate their craft and honor their peers," said Neil Portnow, President of the Recording Academy. "In the spirit of this celebration, we extend the scope of Grammy Week with events that focus on specific genres, and pay homage to the legends who have made significant contributions to these musical forms, as well as those who continue to keep these genres alive and vibrant."

The Grammy Salute To Gospel Music which will be held in L.A. from 7 – 10 p.m. on Feb. 10 at the West Angeles Church of God in Christ Cathedral, will feature a special presentation of the President’s Merit Award, which is given to accomplished artists in honor of their professional achievements, to Grammy-winning pioneer of contemporary gospel Andraé Crouch, Grammy-winning Southern gospel artist/songwriters Bill and Gloria Gaither, and Grammy-winning gospel veteran Albertina Walker. The event will also showcase exciting performances from top artists including Grammy - recipients CeCe Winans, Kirk Franklin and Donnie McClurkin, as well as Byron Cage, Nicole C. Mullen, Donald Lawrence and current Grammy - nominees Smokie Norful and the Crabb Family. Confirmed sponsors for the Grammy Salute To Gospel Music include: WOW, Northern Trust, Union Bank, EMI Gospel, Fo Yo Soul Entertainment, Gospo Centric, Pure Springs Gospel, Verity Records, ASCAP, Daywind Records, and Word Records.

The 47th Annual GRAMMY Awards is scheduled for Sunday, Feb. 13, 2005, and will be broadcast live from STAPLES Center on the CBS Television Network from 8 – 11:30 p.m. (EST/PST). For more information, please visit