Kurt Warner Honored with 2010 Bart Starr Award

Recently retired NFL quarterback Kurt Warner was presented with the 2010 Bart Starr Award Saturday for exhibiting outstanding character and leadership in the home, on the field and in the community.

Warner, who played in the NFL for 12 years before announcing his retirement last month, was noted for his participation in a number of charities including the First Things First Foundation, the Make-A-Wish Foundation, the Special Olympics, Neighborhood Ministries, and Habitat for Humanity.

In his acceptance speech, the Super Bowl champion and four-time Pro-Bowler reiterated his hope to not be defined by only his football feats, which include three MVP awards, a Super Bowl win, and the second-highest completion percentage in NFL history.

"You know the last 12 years, that's been my same goal – it has been to use the 12 years, to use the platform of the NFL as a means to accomplishing and leaving a legacy that goes well beyond records, and touchdowns, and football awards," he said.

Warner made similar remarks upon announcing his retirement from the NFL on Jan. 29, during which he thanked God for the opportunities that He had given to him off the field.

Other finalists of this year's Bart Starr Award were Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints and Jeff Saturday of the Indianapolis Colts, both of whom have contributed their time and efforts to make a difference in their communities and elsewhere in the nation through multiple charities.

They also happen to scheduled to appear in this year's Super Bowl, which will see the Saints and the Colts face off Sunday evening in Miami.

Since 1988, the Bart Starr Award has been presented each year during the NFL-sanctioned Super Bowl Breakfast, which emphasizes faith in football and honors those who have shown exceptional character.

The award – the highlight of the breakfast – is presented by Starr himself to a current NFL player who has been voted by his peers for demonstrating outstanding moral fiber and leadership on and off the field.

This year, some 1,100 attended the breakfast, including notable figures such as Baltimore Ravens Head Coach John Harbaugh, NFL Hall of Famer Anthony Muñoz, former Indianapolis Colts Coach Tony Dungy, and Philadelphia Eagles Quarterback Michael Vick.

Dungy, who took the Colts to the Super Bowl in 2006 and won it, was the keynote speaker for the event.