| Coronavirus →

Leonardo DiCaprio Fans Implode Over Oscars 2014 Loss: 'Give Leo An Oscar' and 'Poor Leo' Trending (PHOTOS)

Leonardo DiCaprio Fans Implode Over Oscars 2014 Loss: 'Give Leo An Oscar' and 'Poor Leo' Trending (PHOTOS)

Actor Leonardo DiCaprio poses at the opening night gala for AFI Fest 2011 with the premiere of his new film film ''J. Edgar'' directed by Clint Eastwood in Hollywood November 3, 2011. | (Photo: Reuters/Fred Prouser)

Leonardo DiCaprio fans were disappointed by the actor being snubbed at the Academy Awards once again Sunday night. Though DiCaprio seemed gracious as he lost Best Actor to Matthew McConaughey for "The Dallas Buyers Club," his fans seemingly haven't gotten over his fourth loss in a row.

Leonardo DiCaprio fans saw the actor nominated this year for his wild performance of immoral Long Island banker Jordan Belfort in "The Wolf of Wall Street." The film, which was directed by Martin Scorsese, had DiCaprio up against tough competition: Christian Bale was nominated for "American Hustle"; "12 Years A Slave" actor Chiwetel Ejiofor was nominated for the coveted statue; and Bruce Dern was also in the running for "Nebraska."

McConaughey won, though, for "The Dallas Buyers Club," and while he thanked God, his family and himself for the award, the Internet was awash with DiCaprio memes, puns and other jokes.

"Nominees are:

Leonardo DiCaprio
Leonardo DiCaprio
Leonardo DiCaprio
Leonardo DiCaprio

& the Oscar goes to: Gravity," @mellajulia tweeted to many retweets.

One of many memes about Leonardo DiCaprio missing out on an Oscar for "The Wolf of Wall Street" and losing to Matthew McConaughey for "Dallas Buyers Club." | 9GAG

"Always the bridesmaid, never a bride," one user wrote. "The Wolf of Wall Street but the Goat of the Academy," another fan responded. "Leonardo DiCaprio didn't lose an Oscar, the Oscars lost him," a third posted. Almost all the tweets about DiCaprio's loss had hashtags like #PoorLeo and #GiveLeoAnOscar.

DiCaprio was nominated beginning in 1994 for "What's Eating Gilbert Grape?" then again years later for "The Aviator" and "Blood Diamond." Throughout the many years with no nominations he's starred in various roles many considered Oscar-worthy, like "Titanic," "Catch Me If You Can," "Gangs of New York," "The Departed," "Django Unchained," "Shutter Island" and "Inception."

Despite DiCaprio's failure to win an Academy Award this year, he did win Best Actor at the Golden Globes earlier in 2014. The 39-year-old also hasn't had the worst luck among actors as far as the Oscars go: Al Pacino was nominated for an Oscar seven times before finally winning for "The Scent of A Woman" in 1993, and Amy Adams has been nominated five times since 2005 without a win.

Free CP Newsletters

Join over 250,000 others to get the top stories curated daily, plus special offers!

Dear CP readers,

We are in the process of transferring all past comments into our new comment platform with OpenWeb, which will take up to a week. Thank you for your patience.

In the meantime, you can post new comments now. Check the updated Commenting FAQ for more information.


Most Popular

More Articles