Shakira Honored With Latin Grammy 'Person of the Year' Award

The Latin Grammy organization has announced that Colombian singer Shakira will be honored as 2011’s Person of the Year.

The 2011 Latin Recording Academy will hold a tribute gala in honor of the famed singer the day before the awards show on November 10th.

The academy selected Shakira as the winner of the prestigious award for her artistic achievements as well as her many philanthropic contributions.

“We are honored to pay homage to this dynamic, socially conscious woman whose illustrious career has touched so many people around the world, both musically and personally,” said Gabriel Abaroa Jr., President of The Latin Recording Academy, in a statement Tuesday.

The 34-year-old singer is the youngest to ever receive Person of the Year.

At 18 years old, Shakira formed the charity Pies Descalzos Foundation, focused on providing underprivileged children with education. She is also a goodwill ambassador through UNICEF and an honorary chairperson for the Global Campaign for education.

Shakira is also nominated for three Latin Grammy awards this year, including Album of the Year.

“It is truly an honor to be in the company of some of the greatest artists and legends of Latin Music,” said the Colombian singer in a statement.

Shakira has claimed two Grammy awards and seven Latin Grammy awards already. Her worldwide hits “Hips Don’t Lie” and “Whenever, Wherever,” among others, earned her international success.

Shakira’s album “She Wolf,” released in 2009, has sold over 2 million copies worldwide.

In Latina magazine, Shakira was listed as one of “15 Latinas We Love” and said to be unafraid “to roll up her sleeves and fight for universal access to education.”

Former Person of the Year winners includes Latin artists such as Carlos Santana, Julio Iglesias, Gloria Estefan, and Ricky Martin.

The 12th annual Latin Grammys will take place at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center in Las Vegas. The awards show will air as a live broadcast on the Univision Network at 8 p.m. EST.