Monday, October 21, 2013
The 44th Annual Dove Awards 2013 Air Tonight on Up Network

The 44th Annual Dove Awards 2013 Air Tonight on Up Network

The 44th Annual GMA Dove Awards will air on television tonight, Oct. 21 at 8 p.m. ET on UP. The awards show is appearing on the channel for the fifth time.

The live event took place last Tuesday.

Celebrating the biggest names in Christian music and rewarding them for their contributions, the night was hosted by Kirk Franklin and Amy Grant.

Notable performances of the night included: Gaither Vocal Band, Jason Crabb, Michael W. Smith, Newsboys, Tamela Mann, TobyMac, Colton Dixon, For King & Country, Britt Nicole, Trip Lee and Andy Mineo, among many others.

"This year's show is full of grace, glory and masterful talent. To be able to capture the diversity of the gospel through music on one stage, on one night and in turn get to share it with the world is the ultimate mission of the GMA. In addition to the amazing talent we're honored to have trailblazers of the faith, Joyce Meyer and Pastor Rick Warren participate in this celebration," GMA Executive Director Jackie Patillo said in a press release shortly after the actual event.

Presenters include: Candace Cameron Bure, Rusty & Julie Bulloch, Pastor Rick Warren, Joyce Meyer, Brandon Heath, Chonda Pierce, David Mann, Isaac Carree, Jaci Velasquez, Lecrae, Bart Millard, Mandisa, Montell Jordan, Jon Foreman, Mark Lowry and Bone Hampton.

The big award of the night, Artist of the Year, was won by TobyMac. He also won Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year, Recorded Music Packaging of the Year, and Short Form Video of the Year. These were for his album, Eye on It.

"It feels weird to be called artist of the year when I know it takes a family and I always want to acknowledge that. I said in one of my songs a long time ago, I'm just a little man trying to fit in God's plan. I still feel like that," TobyMac in a press release.

Matt Redman won several awards for his 10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord) album. He won Song of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, Contemporary Christian Performance of the Year, Pop/Contemporary Song of the Year, Praise & Worship Song of the Year, and won a contribution award, Special Event Album of the Year, for his role in Passion: Let the Future Begin.

Jason Crabbe won Southern Gospel Song of the Year for "What the Blood is For," Inspirational Song of the Year for "Satisfied," and Southern Gospel Performance of the Year.

Other big winners include for King & Country (New Artist of the Year), Lecrae for his album Gravity (Rap/Hip-Hop Album of the Year), Tasha Cobbs for song "Break Every Chain" (Gospel Performance), and Chris Tomlin for Burning Lights (Praise & Worship Album).

Mandisa won the Uplift Someone award "for her music, message and humanitarian heart, all of which (individually and collectively) have inspired others," said Amy Grant at the show.

See the full list of winners here.


Most Popular

More Articles