Xbox One Release Date: Microsoft to Launch Console in 13 Countries Instead of 21

Microsoft is shortening Xbox One's launch day from 21 countries to 13 in order to properly optimize the experiences and the focus where establishing a strong start is vital.

No official date has been released, but countries that will be getting the console are Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and New Zealand according to Forbes.

Other countries that were expecting first day release were Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden and Switzerland. They will now get the console "as soon as possible," the Xbox One website said.

"While we wish we could launch Xbox One simultaneously in these markets, there are many factors that determine the timing of specific market launches. This includes work to localize the Xbox One dash, incorporate additional voice and languages, and build partnerships to bring apps and meaningful local content to each country," Microsoft posted on their site.

Forbes cites that Microsoft's controversial policy changes may have caused the delay of launching to as many places as possible as all the kinks are being worked out of the system.

Another factor that could hurt them in the long run is the exclusion of may European countries, where soccer (football) is extremely popular. One of the most popular games of all time is FIFA, which sells especially well overseas. This lack of strong opening sales could put Microsoft behind at the start.

The Xbox One is expected to be launched by mid November, although no official release date has been confirmed by Microsoft.