2011 Dove Awards Nominees Announced

Nominees for the 42nd Dove Awards were announced at a press conference Wednesday in Atlanta GA

Natalie Grant, TobyMac, Chris Tomlin, Marvin Sapp, Jason Crabb, Francesca Battistelli and Ernie Haase & Signature Sound will be Christian music artists vying for the coveted Artist of the Year title at this year's Dove Awards show.

Nominees for the 42nd Annual Gospel Music Association (GMA) Dove Awards were announced at a press conference Wednesday in Atlanta, Ga.

The 2011Dove Awards, the Christian version of the Grammys, will be held at the historic Fox Theatre's Grand Salon on April 20.

The nominees in selected categories were announced by participating artist such as Lecrae, Third Day, Carlos Whittaker, Carlos Whittaker, Mandisa and Sisters. The opening prayer was given by Bishop Paul S. Morton, senior pastor of Changing a Generation Full Gospel Baptist Church in Atlanta. Morton emphasized the importance of celebrating talented artists that honor God through their musical talents.

Audrey Assad, Chris August and Forever Jones are among the contenders for the New Artist of the Year award.

MercyMe received three nominations, including Song of the Year for "All of Creation." Other nominees for the category include Jason Crabb, Chris August, Chris Tomlin, TobyMac, Sanctus Real, MIKESCHAIR, Francesca Battistelli and Triumphant Quartet.

Awards are also given to the top albums, music videos, producers of the year, Spanish album of the year and more.

This year's Dove Awards will include hero of the year nominations where churches are invited to send a short clip of why their pastor is a hero. The pastors will be celebrated in a reception prior to the Dove Awards.

Another addition to the award show this year is a worldwide competition where church choirs across the world can submit their version of "How Great is Our God" into a contest.

GMA's Chairman of the Board Ed Leonard said, "We are very excited about that. It's our way of celebrating people who do it day in and day out."

Song of the Year Nominations

"All of Creation" by Mercy me
"Beautiful, Beautiful" by Francesca Battistelli
"Get Back up" by TobyMac
"Hold My Heart" by Tenth Avenue North
"Lead Me" by Sanctus Real
"Let the Waters Rise" by MIKESCHAIR
"Love Come Calling" by Triumphant Quartet
"Our God" by Chris Tomlin
"Sometimes I Cry" by Jason Crabb
"Starry Night" by Chris August

Male Vocalist of the Year Nominations

Doug Anderson
Chris August
Jason Crabb
Brandon Heath
Israel Houghton
Marvin Sapp
Chris Tomlin

Female Vocalist of the Year Nominations

Audrey Assad
Francesca Battistelli
Natalie Grant
Britt Nicole
Janet Paschal
Kerrie Roberts
Laura Story

Group of the Year Nominations

Ernie Haase & Signature Sound
Gaither Vocal Band
Sidewalk Prophets
Tenth Avenue North

Artist of the Year Nominations

Francesca Battistelli
Jason Crabb
Ernie Haase & Signature Sound
Natalie Grant
Marvin Sapp
Chris Tomlin

New Artist of the Year Nominations

Audrey Assad
Chris August
Forever Jones
John Mark McMillan
No Other Name
Kerrie Roberts
Kristian Stanfill

Was this article helpful?

Help keep The Christian Post free for everyone.

By making a recurring donation or a one-time donation of any amount, you're helping to keep CP's articles free and accessible for everyone.

We’re sorry to hear that.

Hope you’ll give us another try and check out some other articles. Return to homepage.

Free Religious Freedom Updates

Join thousands of others to get the FREEDOM POST newsletter for free, sent twice a week from The Christian Post.

Most Popular

Free Religious Freedom Updates

A religious liberty newsletter that is a must-read for people of faith.

More Articles