I'm in Love with a Church Girl Soundtrack Features Ja Rule on First Gospel Track

The "I'm In Love With A Church Girl" movie debuted last month to rave reviews and has been called a smash indie success in the Christian market, and now the soundtrack featuring gospel artists, TobyMac, and even Ja Rule perform on the album.

The soundtrack features music from the movie plus original tracks recorded specifically from the album. The songs reflect the movie's themes of love, redemption, surrender and salvation as a variety of genre's show up including: contemporary R&B, Latin rap, Dance and Pop, classic worship and gospel.

The film's music stars also perform. Ja Rule raps on "Pray For The Day," featuring Rule's signature sing-rap cadence he is well known for. T-Bone's "Possess My Body," is a duet with Beckah Shae that is easily a Latin party song reminiscent to Pitbull.

Ja Rule doing a gospel track is surprising, but also a true testament to God changing someone's life. He recently spoke to CP on the prospect of making gospel music.

"I don't want people to get a misconception of what it is," said Rule. "I'm taking baby steps and doing what I'm doing with [my faith], but it's a work in progress. Don't expect me to make gospel records tomorrow. I'm still going to make the records that I feel in my heart, tell the truth. True to life stories or true tales of what I'm going through and what I struggle with on a day to day basis."

"I will have a more conscious thought process when I am making certain records," he continued. "You know I am a role model and people are looking up to me and watching everything that I do and say."

A deluxe edition was also released last month featuring four bonus tracks and is available only on iTunes.

The film is based on a true story and stars Jeff "Ja Rule" Atkins, who plays an entrepreneur who can't escape his criminal past and the people who kept him down. He then finds a "church girl," Adrienne Bailon, who leads him to God in his life.

Other cast members are Stephen Baldwin, Vincent Pastore, Michael Madsen, T-Bone, Martin Kove and TobyMac.

Track List:
1. Better- Israel & New Breed featuring The Andrae Crouch Singers
2. Come As You Are- Donnie McClurkin Featuring Marvin Sapp, Israel Houghton and New Breed Africa
3. I Surrender- Israel & New Breed
4. Sunday Kinda Love - Israel Houghton feat. PJ Morton, Nikki Ross & Aaron Lindsey
5. Worthy Of My Praise- Israel & New Breed Featuring Anointed, & Nikki Ross
6. Providence- Israel Houghton & Lalah Hathaway
7. You Found Me- Israel Houghton & TobyMac
8. Your Love Is Better- Sheila E & Lucia Parker
9. Possess My Body- T-Bone
10. Burn Rubber (Why You Wanna Hurt Me)- The Gap Band
11. Hit and Run- The Bar-Kays
12. Comin From Where I'm From- Anthony Hamilton
13. Pray For The Day- Ja Rule
14. It's Not Over- Israel & New Breed feat. James Fortune and Jason Nelson

Bonus Tracks:
Awesome (Deeper Love House Mix) - Pastor Charles Jenkins & Fellowship Chicago
Nothing Compares to You - Amanda Shelby (Performer)
We Praise You - T-Bone & Shari B.
Rain Down - New Breed Africa

Free CP Newsletters

Join over 250,000 others to get the top stories curated daily, plus special offers!


Most Popular

More Articles