2009 Christian Radio Stations of the Year Announced

The winners of this year's Radio Station of the Year contest have been announced and will be acknowledged during the 40th annual Gospel Music Association (GMA) Dove Awards on Thursday.

Aside from their ratings, the winners of the GMA/Christian Music Broadcaster (CMB) contest were selected by a panel of judges who reviewed them on their involvement, air check and industry leadership. The annual radio station awards are presented to those Christian radio stations that meet the highest standards of quality and have the strongest impact on their listening areas.

"[T]he team is so excited to be awarded these honors," expressed Melissa Montana, general manager of Star 88.3, which will be recognized as the winner of the small market category.

"We know we couldn't do it without the support of our many amazing listeners. We are looking forward to the future as we plan on making a greater impact on this community as we honor God in all we do," she added in Star 88.3's announcement of the award.

Montana will also be personally honored with the Rob Gregory Award, which is presented to a Christian broadcaster, radio station or associated professional who, during the past year, has shown outstanding effort in the community. She will be the first female ever to receive the Rob Gregory Award.

"I personally feel blessed," Montana commented.

A list of all four winners of the 2009 GMA/Christian Music Broadcasters (CMB) Radio Station of the Year contest is as follows:

Major Market
Z88.3 (WPOZ) – Orlando, Fla.
Dean O'Neal, Station Manager

Large Market
89.7 (WMHK) – Columbia, S.C.
John Owens, Operations Manager

Medium Market
New Life 91.9 (WRCM) – Charlotte, Gastonia, Rock Hill, N.C./S.C.
Joe Paulo, Director of Broadcasting

Small Market
Star 88.3 (WLAB) - Fort Wayne, Ind.
Melissa Montana, Station Manager