Nicki Minaj, Pitbull Hosts of 2011 American Music Awards

Nicki Minaj and Pitbull have been named co-hosts of the American Music Awards on Nov. 20 and appeared very excited about the honor at their press conference.

In addition to hosting, Minaj will be performing during the night, sharing the stage with a slew of other big names like Katy Perry, Justin Bieber, Kelly Clarkson, LMFAO, Jennifer Lopez, Maroon 5, and Usher.

Also announced were the nominees for Sprint’s New Artist of the Year award which included: Foster the People, Hot Chelle Rae, Wiz Khalifa, LMFAO, Marsha Abrosius, and the Band Perry among a few others.

This year women are dominating the nominees’ list. The list for pop or rock music "Favorite Album" includes: Lady Gaga's “Born This Way,” Rihanna's “Loud,” and Adele's “21.”

The "Favorite Female" pop/rock nominees are Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, and Adele. The "Favorite Male" pop/rock group included Justin Bieber, Bruno Mars, and Pitbull.

The Hip-Hop/Rap nominees are Nicki Minaj, Lil Wayne, and Kanye West while all three were also nominated for "Favorite Hip-Hop" album – “Pink Friday” (Minaj), “Tha Carter IV” (Wayne), and “Watch the Throne” (Kanye) with Jay-Z.

Usher, Trey Songz, and Chris Brown are up for Soul/R&B awards, while the female awards are being fought over by Beyoncé, Kelly Rowland, and Rihanna.

Topping the list in nominations is Adele with four. Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, and Rihanna each have three.

The "Artist of the Year" will see the powerful trio of Adele, Lady Gaga, and Taylor Swift up against lone male Lil Wayne.