Recommended

当前页面: 观点与评论 |
安东尼·葛兰西和美国的“取消文化”

安东尼·葛兰西和美国的“取消文化”

紧随着1917年俄国布尔什维克的十月革命,全欧洲的共产主义者相信共产主义会迅速在全世界扩散。卡尔·马克思曾预告,共产主义是“从科学角度说”是资本主义无可避免的替代者。在各主要国家一连串成功的无产阶级(工人/雇员)革命后,全世界的无产阶级会行动起来掌握生产资料。俄罗斯帝国的继承者,苏联,则建立了“共产国际”,以在欧洲进一步推广共产主义。然而,在1920年代初,越发明显的趋势就是共产主义不再在苏联之外扩张,西欧的共产主义者们遇到了一个难题。安东尼·葛兰西(Antonio Gramsci)曾经是布尔什维克革命运动中意大利共产党的创立者之一,他对这难题给出的解答最终来到了美国,也能够解释当前的取消文化(Cancel Culture)。

(图片:Courtesy of Bill Connor)

葛兰西于1891年出生在意大利的撒丁岛,1926年,由于在一战后煽动共产主义而被囚禁。因为年轻时健康状况不好,1937年,葛兰西死于狱中。在这十年间,葛兰西写作了今天被称为“文化马克思主义”的许多著作。葛兰西将西欧共产主义运动的失败归结为与俄国相对而言公民社会和制度的强力的挑战。尤其来说,葛兰西写到了“文化霸权”(cultural hegemony)在阻碍无产阶级推翻资产阶级过程中的重要性。按照葛兰西说法,资产阶级通过“文化霸权”让无产阶级满足于服从资产阶级。葛兰西宣称,统治阶级建立了人民的历史、语言、故事等等,这让统治阶级不必使用暴力而维持统治。

葛兰西为瓦解所谓资产阶级文化霸权开出的药方是通过瓦解和压制所谓的主导文化。这将通过推广替代性文化来实现新的霸权。由此就可以使无产阶级阶级起义畅通无阻地向前发展,带来共产主义社会。要想成功,这就需要对社会的文化标志进行攻击,并持续贬低这种文化。这就需要改变语言和公认的“常识”。例如,“自力更生”一词将成为文化霸权的一部分,使无产阶级在霸权体系中获得满足。按照马克思主义“现在必须控制过去”的诫命,历史标记必须被清除并取代。这种情况在俄国已经发生了,标志性城市圣彼得堡(一战期间暂时为彼得格勒)被改名为列宁格勒,整个沙皇家庭被谋杀,还有其他许多例子。

像马克思一样,葛兰西写道,基督教是共产主义革命的主要敌人,是所谓文化霸权的主要支柱。对绝对真理的主张和对社会权威的服从是一体的。特别是基督教关于核心家庭的重要性和父亲在家庭中的作用的告诫,是无产阶级起义的主要障碍。像马克思一样,葛兰西主张攻击和贬低基督教、核心家庭和父权(“父权制”)。葛兰西主张文化马克思主义者渗透进入媒体、娱乐、法庭和政治领域。他把这称为穿透社会的“长袍”以瓦解霸权文化。

尽管葛兰西1937年瘐毙狱中,但他的狱中笔记于二战后欧洲共产主义复辟时期的1950年代在欧洲出版。直到20世纪70年代,这些著作才被翻译并在美国出版。有趣的是,约瑟夫·布蒂格(Joseph Buttigieg,正是民主党总统候选人皮特·布蒂格Pete Buttigieg的父亲),为葛兰西著作提供了主要的翻译和评论。葛兰西的所谓文化霸权思想,助力刺激政治左派和高等教育的著作和思想。葛兰西的思想渗透了进步左派,从20世纪70年代至今,进步左派稳步发展。就美国社会而言,葛兰西的影响可以从对美国历史上不断升级的贬低中看出。还有对父亲和核心家庭的贬低,与对其他基督教理想的贬低和压制。最后则是对建国国父们和美国社会文化英雄们的贬低。

葛兰西带来了我们现在理解为取消文化的东西。当华盛顿特区市长成立专案组,考虑拆除华盛顿纪念碑、杰斐逊纪念碑等此类纪念碑时,我们可以看到葛兰西的影响。当暴乱者在全美各地拆毁雕像,破坏和污损废奴主义者、林肯、尤利西斯·格兰特等人的纪念碑时,这与其说是反种族主义,不如说是葛兰西的影响。黑命贵(BLM)和安提法(antifa)完全受葛兰西的影响,他们自觉地遵循葛兰西的告诫,拆毁美国社会的一切文化标志。包括在波特兰焚烧圣经在内的许多对教会的攻击,也都是在追随葛兰西的理念。黑命贵将“破坏核心家庭”列为主要目的,是遵循葛兰西的指示。过去三个月的骚乱(绝不是什么和平抗议)主要是葛兰西推翻文化霸权带来共产主义革命的影响。值得注意的是,黑命贵的主要创始人帕特西亚·库罗斯(Patricia Cullors)在2015年的一次采访中承认,黑命贵的创始人们都是“训练有素的马克思主义者”,并遵循这一意识形态。

“批判(种族)理论”和 “交错性”(intersectionality)也是取消文化和撕毁美国创始人和英雄的一部分。任何具有“主导”特征的文化标记(白人、男性、异性恋、基督徒)都会自动成为嫌疑人。基于我们国家人口类型,刚刚建国那几代人几乎都会被污名化为种族主义者,不管是不是废奴主义者。这是撕毁霸权的一部分。

美国人可以认为,种族主义错了,但要拒绝葛兰西带来的取消文化。安东尼·葛兰西的思想不应该通过反种族主义或反法西斯主义的说法来推倒美国,美国领导人现在就需要发声。让保守派闭嘴并对其污名化的做法是错误的,这种行为受葛兰西的影响更大。大多数美国人仍然信奉基督教,相信核心家庭是重要的,并且热爱我们的国父和文化偶像,其中包括马丁·路德·金,美国人热爱我们的自由,包括经济自由,而经济自由会随着共产主义而消亡。安东尼·葛兰西和取消文化是美国宪政制度的敌人,现在是时候暴露、拒绝这些思想,并且永远不再听之任之。

比尔·康纳(Bill Connor)是陆军步兵上校,作家兼奥兰治堡律师,曾多次被部署到中东。 他曾是赫尔曼德省阿富汗部队的高级美国军事顾问,在那里获得铜星勋章。

最受欢迎

更多观点与评论文章

Recommended

CP VOICES

Engaging views and analysis from outside contributors on the issues affecting society and faith today.

CP VOICES do not necessarily reflect the views of The Christian Post. Opinions expressed are solely those of the author(s).

Current Page: Voices | | Coronavirus →
Antonio Gramsci and 'cancel culture' in America

Antonio Gramsci and 'cancel culture' in America

Courtesy of Bill Connor

In the wake of the Russian Bolshevik Revolution in October 1917, Communists throughout Europe believed Communism would quickly flourish throughout the world. Karl Marx had predicted that Communism was "scientifically" inevitable as a replacement of capitalism.  In the wake of a successful Proletariat (workers/employees) revolution in one major country, the Proletariat throughout the world would rise up and take control of the means of production. The successor to the Russian Empire, the Soviet Union, established the "Communist International (Comintern)" to help further the spread of Communism throughout Europe. By the early 1920s, however, it became clear that Communism was not flourishing beyond the Soviet Union, and those Communists in Western Europe faced a conundrum.  Antonio Gramsci, who helped establish the Communist Party in Italy in the wake of the Bolshevik, came up with answers to the conundrum that eventually came to America and help explain modern Cancel Culture.

Gramsci was born in 1891 in Sardinia, Italy, and was imprisoned in 1926 for Communist agitation after World War I. In poor health due to an accident in his youth, Gramsci died in prison in 1937. During the decade Gramsci wrote about what has become known today as "cultural Marxism". Gramsci's explanation for the failure of Communism in Western Europe was the challenge of the strength of civil society and the institutions compared with Russian. In particular, Gramsci wrote about the importance of "cultural hegemony" in keeping the proletariat from overthrowing the bourgeoisie. According to Gramsci, the proletariat class was kept complacent in subordinationation to the bourgeoisie through "cultural hegemony". Gramsci alleged that the dominant class established the history, language, stories, etc. of a people which helped maintain the dominance without the necessity of hard force.  

Gramsci's prescription for dismantling the alleged cultural hegemony of the Bourgeoisie was through dismantling and subordinating the alleged dominant culture. This would come through promotion of alternate cultures to a new hegemony.  This would allow the proletariat class revolt to move forward unhindered and bring a Communist society. For success, this would require attacks on the cultural icons of society and a sustained demeaning of that culture. It would require a change language and accepted "common sense". For example, the term "picking yourself up by your bootstraps" would be alleged to be part of the cultural hegemony to keep the proletariat complacent within the hegemonic system. Following the Marxist admonition "the present must control the past", historical icons must be removed and replaced. This had happened in Russian, with the renaming of the iconic city St. Petersburg (temporarily Petrograd during WWI) with Leningrad and the murder of the entire extended royal family among many examples.  

Like Marx, Gramsci wrote that Christianity was a primary enemy of the Communist Revolution and the major pillar of the alleged cultural hegemony. The claims of absolute truth and submission to societal authority were a part. In particular, Christian admonitions of the importance of the nuclear family and the role of the father in the family were primary obstacles to the proletariat uprising.  Like Marx, Gramsci advocated attacking and demeaning Christianity, the nuclear family, and fatherhood ("Patriarchy"). Gramsci advocated infiltration of cultural Marxists in the media, entertainment, courts, and politics. He referred to this as going through "the robes" of society to dismantle the hegemonic culture.

Though Gramsci died in Prison in 1937, his prison notes were published in Europe in 1950 during the post-Word War II resurgence of European Communism. The writings were not translated and published in the US until the 1970s.  Interestingly, Joseph Buttigieg (Democratic Presidential Candidate Pete Buttigieg's father), providing the primary translations and commentary of Gramsci.  Gramsci's ideas of the alleged cultural hegemony helped spur the writings and ideas of the political left and higher education. Gramsci's ideas permeated the progressive left, which steadily grew from the 1970s to the present. In relation to American society, Gramsci's influence can be seen in the escalating demeaning of American history.  The demeaning of fatherhood and the nuclear family, with the demeaning and suppression of other Christian ideals.  Finally the demeaning of the founding fathers and cultural heroes of American society.

Gramsci brought what we now understand as cancel culture.  When the Mayor of Washington, DC sets up a task force to consider removing the Washington Monument, Jefferson Memorial,  and other such memorials, we can see the influence of Gramsci. When rioters tear down statues throughout America, destroying and defacing monuments to abolitionists, Lincoln, US Grant, and others, this is more about Gramsci than anti-racism. BLM and antifa, thoroughly influenced by Gramsci, were purposely following the admonition of Gramsci in tearing down every cultural icon to American society.  The many attacks on the Church, including burning Bibles in Portland, followed Gramsci.  BLM includes "disrupt the nuclear family" as a primary aim, following the direction of Gramsci. The riots (not peaceful protests) of the past three months are primarily about the influence of Gramsci's overturning cultural hegemony to bring the Communist Revolution. It's important to note that primary founder of BLM, Patricia Cullors, admitted in a 2015 interview that founders of BLM were "trained Marxists", and following that ideology.

"Critical (race) theory" and "intersectionality" are also a part of cancel culture and tearing down of American founders and heroes. Any cultural icon with "dominant" characteristics (white, male, heterosexual, Christian) becomes automatically suspect. Based on our national demographics of the founding generations almost all become stigmatized as racists, abolitionist or not. This is part of the tearing down of the hegemony.

Americans can agree that racism is wrong, and yet reject cancel culture brought by Gramsci. Antonio Gramsci's ideas should not be bulldozing America through the claim of anti-racism or anti-fascism and American leaders need to speak out now. The silencing and stigmatizing of conservatives is wrong and influenced by Gramsci more than anything else. Most Americans remain Christian, believe the nuclear family is important, and love our founding fathers and cultural icons, which includes Martin Luther King Jr.  Americans love our freedom and liberty, including economic liberty, which would be extinguished with Communism. Antonia Gramsci and cancel culture are the enemy of the American Constitutional system and it is time these ideas are exposed, rejected, and never tolerated again.

Free CP Newsletters

Join over 250,000 others to get the top stories curated daily, plus special offers!

Free CP Newsletters

Join over 250,000 others to get the top stories curated daily, plus special offers!

Free CP Newsletters

Join over 250,000 others to get the top stories curated daily, plus special offers!

Free CP Newsletters

Join over 250,000 others to get the top stories curated daily, plus special offers!

Bill Connor, an Army Infantry colonel, author and Orangeburg attorney, has deployed multiple times to the Middle East. Connor was the senior U.S. military adviser to Afghan forces in Helmand Province, where he received the Bronze Star. A Citadel graduate with a JD from USC, he is also a Distinguished Graduate of the U.S. Army War College, earning his master of strategic studies. He is the author of the book Articles from War.

Sponsored

Most Popular