Recommended

当前页面: 观点与评论 |
美国的前进之路:公正、仁慈和谦卑

美国的前进之路:公正、仁慈和谦卑

Samuel Rodriguez。

过去几周,我对乔治·弗洛伊德、布伦娜·泰勒和艾哈迈德·阿贝里的不公正死亡以及美国对双性恋者、原住民和有色人种的持续虐待深感悲痛。在21世纪,男人、女人和儿童不应该因为他们的肤色而生活在恐惧之中。但他们确实如此。每天如此。

种族主义在我们国家很活跃。可悲的是,自我们国家诞生以来,种族主义在美国就一直存在。

作为耶稣的追随者,我相信所有人都是按照上帝的形象造出来的——顺便说一句,这并非字面上的形象。这意味着所有人都是由神创造的,因此,无论他们的肤色如何,都具有内在的价值。教会应该是世界上最多样化的群体。它应该像启示录第七章中使徒约翰的异象一样。

“此后,我观看,见有许多的人,没有人能数过来,是从各国、各族、各民、各方来的,站在宝座和羔羊面前,身穿白衣,手拿棕树枝, 大声喊著说:‘愿救恩归与坐在宝座上我们的神,也归与羔羊。’”

我们在加州萨克拉门托的教会就是这个属天社区的一个例子。我们有40%的黑人、40%的白人和20%的西班牙裔-拉美裔。我们的迎宾员用西班牙语、英语和我们风趣地称为 “西班牙英语(Spanglish)”的语言欢迎会员。每当我在主日上台讲道时,我很高兴,我首先注意到的是多种族和族裔的家庭坐在一起,一起敬拜。

可悲的是,教会在反对种族主义和歧视的立场上并不总是团结一致。但是,我们不能继续站在一旁互相争论,而不公正的现象却抬头挺胸。只有建立一个多族裔、多代人的防火墙,才能防止种族主义病毒感染美国的后代。

直言反对不公,其实是神在弥迦书6章8节中呼吁他的子民要做的事,“世人哪,耶和华已指示你何为善,他向你所要的是甚么呢?只要你行公义,好怜悯,存谦卑的心,与你的神同行。”

两千五百多年后,先知弥迦的信息对今天的美国来说,就像公元前8世纪对以色列一样及时。这是能帮我们当前危机中前进的三条道路:

行公义

我呼吁我的信徒同胞和所有有信仰的人站起来,大声疾呼,反对继续在我们的土地上传播的令人发指的不公正现象。我们必须宣扬反对种族主义。我们必须进行反对种族主义的教育。我们必须以和平方式进行抗议。我们必须利用我们的社交媒体来倡导正义。

如果我们是一个真正渴望 “人人享有自由和正义”的国家,那么我们也必须要求我们的政府领导人和警察部队成员对他们的行为负责。联邦政府和司法部应该成立一个全国性的委员会,来解决非裔美国人社区和执法部门之间的信任破裂问题。发生在乔治·弗洛伊德身上的事情和发生在其他许多人身上的事情决不能再发生。

好怜悯

除非我们决定正视系统性种族主义的罪恶,否则我国将永远无法克服它。声称我们 “不是种族主义者”或我们 “不恨”某些群体是不够的。我们必须积极反种族主义。

实际上,这看起来就像与那些看起来不像我们的人团结一致地生活。我们必须与来自不同背景的人建立和保持关系。我们需要走出我们的舒适区,倾听和学习我们受压迫的兄弟姐妹的意见。我们要在爱中彼此服侍,不仅要用我们的时间,还要用我们的财物。无论我们拥有什么样的自然或精神天赋,都必须用于造福我们的人类同胞。

谦卑地与神同行

最近,我在思考神对先知以西结说的话:“我也要赐给你们一个新心,将新灵放在你们里面。又从你们的肉体中除掉石心,赐给你们肉心。”(以西结书36章26节)

用现代的话来说,我们可以说,上帝是在告诉他的子民,他们需要心脏移植。他们的旧心需要换成新心。

这是神今天对我们说的话。我们属灵的心和我们身体的心一样重要。当我们的灵心出现问题时,就会影响到我们生活的各个部分。当我们的心充满仇恨、傲慢或冷漠时,我们就会以仇恨、傲慢和冷漠的方式生活。

事实是,我们的法律可以起诉犯罪,并提供我们迫切需要的正义,但它们不能为人类的心灵立法。我们必须请求上帝赐予我们新的心灵,并在他消除我们心中的仇恨、傲慢和偏见时,顺从他谨慎、准确的掌控。

我并不是作为一个拥有所有答案的人来写这篇文章。我是作为一个心被人类苦难所伤的人写的,渴望耶稣祷告实现的人,也就是期待上帝的国度要降临,他的旨意要 “行在地上,如同行在天上”(马太福音6:10)。 如果我们致力于伸张正义、仁爱和谦卑地寻求上帝,那么我们国家的伤口也许会开始愈合。

塞缪尔·罗德里格斯牧师(Samuel Rodriguez)是全国西班牙裔基督教领袖会议(National Hispanic Christian Leadership Conference)主席,也是加利福尼亚萨克拉曼多New Season教会的的牧师。 他是公民权利倡导者,以在移民改革和种族和解方面的工作而闻名。

最受欢迎

更多观点与评论文章

Recommended

CP VOICES

Engaging views and analysis from outside contributors on the issues affecting society and faith today.

CP VOICES do not necessarily reflect the views of The Christian Post. Opinions expressed are solely those of the author(s).

Current Page:  Voices | | Coronavirus →

The way forward for America: Justice, kindness and humility

For the past several weeks, I have been deeply grieved by the unjust deaths of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor and Ahmaud Arbery and by the continued abuses of biracial people, indigenous people and people of color in America. In the 21st century, men, women and children should not have to live in fear for their lives because of the color of their skin. But they do. Daily. 

samuel rodriguez

Racism is alive and well in our nation. Tragically, racism has been alive and well in America since the birth of our nation. 

As a follower of Jesus, I believe that all people are made in the image of God – which is, by the way, not necessarily a literal image. This means that all are created by God and thus are inherently valuable, regardless of the color of their skin. The church should be the most diverse community of people in the world. It should look like the Apostle John’s vision in Revelation 7: 

“After this I looked, and behold, a great multitude that no one could number, from every nation, from all tribes and peoples and languages, standing before the throne and before the Lamb, clothed in white robes, with palm branches in their hands, and crying out with a loud voice, ‘Salvation belongs to our God who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb!’” (ESV)

Our church in Sacramento, California, is an example of this heavenly community. We are 40% black, 40% white and 20% hispanic-Latino. Our greeters welcome members in Spanish, English and what we amusingly refer to “Spanglish.” Whenever I get on stage to preach on Sundays, I am delighted that the first thing I notice is multi-racial and  -ethnic families sitting next to each other, worshipping together.

Sadly, the church has not always been united on its stand against racism and discrimination. But we cannot continue to stand on the sidelines arguing with each other while injustice lifts its ugly head. Only a multi-ethnic, multi-generational firewall will prevent the virus of racism from infecting future American generations.

Speaking up against injustice is in fact what God calls his people to do in Micah 6:8, “What does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?”

More than two and a half millennia later, the prophet Micah’s message is as timely to America today as it was to Israel in the 8th century B.C. Here’s three ways it can help us move forward during this crisis:

Do justice.
I call my fellow believers and all people of faith to rise up and speak out against the heinous injustices that continue to be propagated in our land. We have to preach against racism. We have to teach against racism. We have to protest peacefully. We have to use our social media presence to advocate for justice. 

If we are a nation that truly desires “liberty and justice for all,” then we also have to call for our government leaders and members of the police force to be held accountable for their actions. The federal government and the Department of Justice should establish a national commission to address the broken trust between the African American community and law enforcement. What happened to George Floyd and what has happened to so many others must never happen again. 

Love kindness.
Our country is never going to overcome the sin of systemic racism until we decide to confront it head on. It is not enough to claim that we are “not racist” or that we “don’t hate” certain groups of people. We must be actively anti-racist. 

Practically, this looks like living in solidarity with people who do not look like us. We have to establish and maintain relationships with those who come from different backgrounds than we do. We need to get out of our comfort zones and listen to and learn from our brothers and sisters who have been oppressed. We have to serve one another in love, not only with our time but also with our treasure. Whatever natural or spiritual gifts we possess must be used for the good of our fellow human beings. 

Walk humbly with God.
Lately, I have been meditating on God’s words to the prophet Ezekiel: “And I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your stony, stubborn heart and give you a tender, responsive heart” (Ezekiel 36:26 NLT).

In modern terms, we could say that God is telling his people that they need heart transplants. Their old hearts need to be replaced with new ones. 

This is God’s word to us today. Our spiritual hearts are just as vital as our physical hearts. When we have a problem with our spiritual heart, it affects all parts of our lives. When our hearts are full of hatred, arrogance or indifference, we live in hateful, arrogant and indifferent ways. 

The truth is that our laws can prosecute crime and deliver the justice we desperately need, but they cannot legislate the human heart. We must ask God for new hearts and submit to his careful, precise hand as he removes hatred, arrogance and prejudice from our hearts. 

I don’t write this as someone who has all the answers. I write this as someone whose heart is broken by human suffering and who desires to play a part in fulfilling Jesus’ prayer for God’s kingdom to come and his will to be done “on earth as it is in heaven” (Matthew 6:10).  If we commit ourselves to doing justice, loving kindness and humbly seeking God, then perhaps our nation’s wounds will begin to heal. 

Rev. Samuel Rodriguez is president of the National Hispanic Christian Leadership Conference and the pastor of New Season in Sacramento, California. He is a civil rights advocate, best known for his work with immigration reform and racial reconciliation.

Free CP Newsletters

Join over 250,000 others to get the top stories curated daily, plus special offers!

Dear CP readers,

We are in the process of transferring all past comments into our new comment platform with OpenWeb, which will take up to a week. Thank you for your patience.

In the meantime, you can post new comments now. Check the updated Commenting FAQ for more information.

Sponsored

Most Popular

More In Opinion