T.D. Jakes, BeBe Winans Among 2009 Inductees to Int'l Gospel Music Hall of Fame

The International Gospel Music Hall of Fame and Museum has announced this year's inductees, who will be honored at its thirteenth annual induction celebration and fundraiser in late October.

Announced by the non-profit organization's founder, David Gough, this year's inductees are T.D. Jakes, Bill Martin, Willie Mae Ford Smith, Myrna Summers, Wyatt T. Walker, and BeBe Winans.

Previous inductees have included Aretha Franklin, CeCe Winans, The Clark Sisters, Donnie McClurkin, and Fred Hammond.

"For over a decade, we have successfully achieved our goal – the furtherance of gospel music worldwide," commented Gough. "The awards event is our annual fund raising centerpiece, but our work to celebrate the contributions of influential individuals and groups, and to increase awareness of gospel music, takes place year-round."

This year's induction and awards celebration will be held at the Max M. Fisher Music Center on Saturday, October 31 – preceded by a Red Carpet Extravaganza with live entertainment and photo opportunities with gospel greats.

Since 1995, the organization has worked to preserve and celebrate the work of the world's legendary and influential gospel music artists and entertainers.

Its museum, located in the studios of DoRohn Entertainment in Detroit, features recordings, documents, photographs and memorabilia. The museum is supported by individual donors and corporate contributors, and is open for tours by appointment.