Recommended

当前页面: 观点与评论 |
以完全信靠神的计划平抚我们的选举恐惧

以完全信靠神的计划平抚我们的选举恐惧

耶利米书29章11节“我知道我向你们所怀的意念”这段经文也许比墙上的海报、脸书上的贴图带来更多恩惠,在最近的历史上,也比其他任何一节经文更多成为布道的主题。然而,这段经文最近让我醒悟过来,明白了这段著名的应许对以色列孩子们的意义所在。

耶利米是所有先知中最勇敢、最大胆的之一。当他虔诚地宣讲神给他的信息时,遭遇了巨大的拒斥并迫害。耶利米警告以色列人,除非属神之民回转向神,否则耶路撒冷即将面临毁灭。当他们拒绝他一再警告,耶利米就告诉他们毁灭来临时应当如何行!他告诉他们,如果他们臣服于巴比伦的囚禁,跟他们去流放,这样他们就能活下去。然而,如果他们拒绝并留在耶路撒冷,那么他们会面对巨大的苦难,许多人会死。耶利米说得很清楚,这样的事发生在他们身上乃是他们罪有应得。他向他们解释说,神会让他们在巴比伦被囚70年,以此洁净他们的不义。活在这样的状况下会让以色列人全心全意回到神这里。在预言的最后,耶利米宣称:“我知道我向你们所怀的意念,是赐平安的意念,不是降灾祸的意念,要叫你们末后有指望。”我怀疑那天之后,是不是有人会把这句话贴墙上!

耶利米书24章包含了著名的“好坏无花果”比喻。解释是说,坏的、腐烂的无花果是邪恶、选择留在耶路撒冷的人,而好的无花果代表了选择“到迦勒底人之地去的……使他们得好处”(耶利米书24章5节)。耶利米在第7节预告了为这些好无花果预备的70年之期:“我要赐他们认识我的心,知道我是耶和华。他们要作我的子民,我要作他们的神,因为他们要一心归向我。”

今年的大选可能引发南北战争并亚伯拉罕林肯的当选以来美国人之间最焦灼的争论。我们面对一个很不确定的未来,类似于耶利米时以色列人所面对那样。建立在基督之爱基础上的教会原本应该免受天花乱坠般信口雌黄以及当前我们政治氛围中弥漫着那些一触即炸分歧的感染,但实情并非如此。家庭、教会、公司、社区、州还有我们全国显然对什么对我们国家才是最好的莫衷一是。看着周遭发生的一切,如果我们任由自己随波逐流,那我们很容易就心烦意乱了。

研读新约和旧约能为我们每日生活提供指导,帮助我们明白神的心意。我们能看到神通过历史反复告诫我们,他主宰了人的一切。

基督教神学中存在两个极端阵营。第一派倾向于认为神对所有人拥有绝对主权,他们被称为“主权主义者”(Sovereignists)。第二派则是亚米念派(Armenian),他们相信神的选择是在一定程度上通过人的“自由意志”限制自己的能力,让人在圣灵帮助下来寻求并追随天父的带领。这两派似乎都同意,神会运用全权影响力进行突然的介入干预,以完成重要的事情,比如说,任命世界领袖以及他们如何与伟大的应许关联起来,还有基督再来的末世计划、大灾难以及世界终结。

但以理书2章21节是这么宣告的:“他改变时候、日期、废王、立王,将智慧赐与智慧人,将知识赐与聪明人。” 在那段经文中是否可以插入“总统”一词,因为国王显然是指当时的国家领导人,就像今天总统指大多数国家的领导人一样? 如果这是真的,那么,当我们祷告“父神,请您在2020年的大选中选择总统,让您的旨意得以实现”,我们能否对神有信心,相信他知道谁是美国最好的选择呢?如果我们知道,当我们做好自己应当应分之事并祷告,且投下我们一票——这是我们公民责任——神的旨意必然实现,那么我们能否找到平安,推开忧虑呢?我们能否在基督肢体里找到一个一致的地方,从而化解信徒之间的诸多紧张?

如果你是旧约圣经的学生,你无疑会明白这个国家在反神和反基督教的情绪上已经偏离了多远,而且通过这样做,这个国家接受了罪恶的做法,这使得以色列人在耶利米时代的罪行显得很不过如此。就我个人而言,我通过理解如果神允许投票朝一个方向发展,那么未来四年的事情可能对我们教会非常有利,从而找到平安。如果神允许它走另一条路,那么我们可能会在接下来的几年里进入一个属灵的流放,可能会忍受更多的逼迫和困难,这很可能会让我们重新全心全意地寻求神。

无论我们未来如何,神对我们的应许是一切都在他的掌控下,哪怕困难来临。“我知道我向你们所怀的意念,是赐平安的意念,不是降灾祸的意念,要叫你们末后有指望。” 完全相信他的计划,会平息我们对选举的恐惧。美国的罪没有快速解决办法。我们必须在一切事情上信靠他!

诺兰·J·哈克尼斯牧师(Nolan J Harkness)是Nolan Harkness Evangelistic Ministries Inc的总裁兼首席执行官。

最受欢迎

更多观点与评论文章

Recommended

CP VOICES

Engaging views and analysis from outside contributors on the issues affecting society and faith today.

CP VOICES do not necessarily reflect the views of The Christian Post. Opinions expressed are solely those of the author(s).

Current Page: Voices | | Coronavirus →
Having complete trust in God's plan calms our election fears

Having complete trust in God's plan calms our election fears

The “For I know the thoughts I think toward you…" verse in Jeremiah 29:11 probably has graced more wall posters, been used on more Facebook posts and has been the topic of more sermons than any single passage of scripture in recent history.  However, recently it awakened me as I realized the context of this famous promise to the children of Israel.

Rev. Nolan J. Harkness is the President and CEO of Nolan Harkness Evangelistic Ministries Inc. | Courtesy of Nolan Harkness

Jeremiah is considered one of the bravest and boldest prophets of all time.  He faced great rejection and persecution as he faithfully proclaimed the messages that God gave him. Jeremiah warned the Israelites of the destruction coming to Jerusalem unless God’s people turned back to Him. When they refused his repeated warnings, he gave them instruction on what to do when the destruction arrived! He told them that if they submitted to Babylonian captivity and followed them into exile, they would live. However, if they refused and stayed in Jerusalem, then they would face great suffering, and many would die. Jeremiah made it clear that this would happen to them as a result of their sinful practices. He explained to them that God would keep them captive in Babylon for 70 years in order to cleanse them of their unrighteousness. Living in those conditions would bring them back to Him with their whole heart. It was in concluding this prophecy that Jeremiah proclaimed, “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you declares the LORD thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you an expected end”! I doubt that anyone was putting that on their walls, later that day!

Chapter 24 of Jeremiah contains the famous parable of the “good and bad figs.” It explains that the bad or rotten figs were the evil ones who would choose to stay behind in Jerusalem, but the good figs represented those who would choose to live among the “Chaldeans for their good”, Jeremiah 24:5b (KJB) Jeremiah prophesies in verse 7 concerning the preparation of these good figs over a seventy year period, “And I will give them a heart to know me, that I am the Lord: and they shall be my people, and I will be their God: for they shall return to me with their whole heart.

This year’s election is probably producing the most contention between Americans of any election since the Civil War and the election of Abraham Lincoln. We face a very uncertain future, similar in some ways to that facing the people of Israel in Jeremiah's time.  Churches grounded in the love of Christ should be immune to the intense rhetoric and passionate differences currently permeating our political climate, but they are not. Families, churches, businesses, communities, states and our complete country are clearly divided concerning what is best for this nation. With all that is going on around us, if we allow ourselves, we can easily become very troubled.

Studying the New and Old Testaments will provide us with instructions for daily living and help us understand the heart of God.  We can see that God has repeatedly reminded us throughout history that He is sovereign over the affairs of men.

Free CP Newsletters

Join over 250,000 others to get the top stories curated daily, plus special offers!

Free CP Newsletters

Join over 250,000 others to get the top stories curated daily, plus special offers!

Two polarizing camps exist in Christian theology. The first leans towards God’s absolute sovereignty over all that man does known as the “Sovereignists”.  Secondly there’s the “Armenian” position that believes God has chosen to somewhat limit His power by the “free will” of men who choose to seek and follow the Heavenly Father’s leading by the Holy Spirit.  Both camps seem to agree that God interjects His sovereign influence, to accomplish matters of great importance, such as the appointment of world leaders and how they all tie into the great promises and End Time plans of the second coming of Christ, the Great Tribulation, and the End of the World. 

Daniel 2:21 makes a proclamation, “And He changes the times and the seasons; He removes kings and raises up kings. He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to those who have understanding.” Could the word “president” be inserted in that scripture as kings clearly refer to the leaders of countries back then the way presidents refer to the leaders of most countries today?  If that is true, then can we have confidence in a God who knows what is best for America to be able to make the best decision if indeed we believe as we pray, “Father God, please let Your will be done as You choose the president in the 2020 elections?” Can we find peace, pushing aside worry, knowing that if we do our part and pray, and cast our vote – as is our civic responsibility – that His will will indeed be done? Can we find a place of agreement in the body of Christ and thus dissolve a lot of the tension between believers?

If you are a student of the Old Testament, you will no doubt understand how far this nation has drifted in its anti-God and anti-Christian sentiment, and that by doing so, the nation embraces sinful practices, which make Israel’s offenses during the time of Jeremiah seem trite. Personally speaking I find peace by understanding that if God allows the vote to go one way, then things may be very good for us as the church for the next four years. If He allows it to go the other way, then it possibly we will go into a spiritual exile for the next several years and may be enduring increased persecution and difficulty, which may very well turn us back to seeking God again with our whole hearts.  

No matter our future, God’s promise to us is that everything is under His control even if difficulties come.  “For I know the thoughts that I think towards you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you an expected end.” (KJV) Having complete trust in His plan will calm our election fears. There is no quick fix to America’s sins. We must trust Him in all things!

Exclusive Op-eds from the 2020 Presidential Campaigns

  • Joe Biden

    Joe Biden

    The greatest commandment has guided my politics

  • Mike Pence

    Mike Pence

    President Trump is the best choice for Americans of faith

Free CP Newsletters

Join over 250,000 others to get the top stories curated daily, plus special offers!

Free CP Newsletters

Join over 250,000 others to get the top stories curated daily, plus special offers!

Rev Nolan J Harkness is the President and CEO of Nolan Harkness Evangelistic Ministries Inc. since 1985. He spent most of his adult life working in youth ministry. He also felt the calling of Evangelist/Revivalist and traveled as the door was open holding evangelistic meetings in churches throughout the Northeast. His website is www.verticalsound.org.

Sponsored

Most Popular