Recommended

当前页面: 观点与评论 |
帮我们认识神的人:缅怀JI巴刻

帮我们认识神的人:缅怀JI巴刻

詹姆斯·恩尼尔·巴刻(James Innell Packer),朋友们称他为吉姆,以J.I. 巴刻的名字广为人知,于7月17日逝世,享年93岁。巴刻是备受尊敬的神学家,著述颇丰的作家,有超过165部著作,其中包括长期畅销的基督教书籍Knowing God(认识神,1973年)。

神学家J.I.巴刻论克制罪欲。 | (图片:Desiring God /The Christian Post)

对马库斯·艾弗里(Marcus Avery)而言,巴刻是圣灵用来拯救他生命的恩赐。超过15年的时间中,艾弗里每天都阅读由陶恕(A.W. Tozer),亚瑟·平克(Arthur Pink),史蒂芬·夏诺克(Stephen Charnock)当然还有巴刻所撰写那些关于神之教义的大作。艾弗里说,自己曾经是“不以基督为第一所爱的浪子”,但“我通过这些属灵巨人的著作发现,神是善的、令人向往的、令人愉快的。”由此,他在过去三年中通过许多次电话交谈而结识巴刻,他对有幸得到巴刻的指导而心怀感激,有时会流露出由衷的泪水。

随着我们所启动的一个项目,帮助新的一代人去重新发现这些过去的一些著作,尤其是能帮助我们理解神之人格和特性的那些著作,艾弗里开始探究巴刻的洞见和祝福。尽管随着年岁增长,巴刻的工作量减少了,但他依然和蔼地以自己的建议和祷告来支持我们,他说:“我能将神之寻求者(God Seekers)项目视为自己事工的延续。”

“如果我能再活一次,我会就神之教义写更多东西。”巴刻说。

巴刻常年奉行慷慨的侍奉精神,每当巴刻的妻子基特(Kit)在餐桌上把艾弗里的电话带给他,他也会称呼艾弗里为“亲爱的兄弟”。他提出内容方面的建议,并鼓励我们继续,以一种易懂、吸引人、充满爱的方式,把这些基本的神学概念写出来。

对于这个任务,我们必须以他为榜样。他展现出了他对上帝的热诚之爱,也展现出了他对受众的爱。他使我们所有人都正确认识了上帝的人格,并使我们为他这样做而感到高兴。他向我们展示了一位我们可能从未认识过的神,一位大能、慈爱、慷慨的神,三位一体的救主。

他的文字和教导的深度,已经被教友、学生、牧师和教会领袖所接受,跨越了绝大多数教派和宗派的界线,也被世界属灵社群中许多人所接受。然而他从未停止过探索学习的脚步。他说过:“当基督的门徒,就意味着要做一个学习者”。

巴刻以推动教会中正确神学教导为个人的首要任务,随之则应是门徒操练和培训。他严格关注自己的神学理解和个人与神的关系。通过勤奋的学习、祷告和侍奉,他全心、全神、全意、全力爱主他的神。

他的动力不仅仅是讨论他所说 “游荡教会”那种不温不火的状况及其需要更加以基督为中心的教导、圣灵带领的事工和属灵的成长,他还为教会祷告,祈求纠正和支持。为此,也许我们对巴刻最大的怀念就是引用他自己的一些话,因为我们必知,即使是现在,他也在为我们代祷,与主面对面,为要让我们明白而祷告。

在论及诗篇119篇时,巴刻写到:“你能看到,诗篇作者对获得有关上帝的知识的关注不是理论上的,而是实践上的。他的至高渴望是认识和享受上帝本身,他重视有关神的知识,而这只是作为达到目的的一种手段。他想了解神的真理,以便他的心可以回应它,他的人生可以合乎这真理……我们的态度也必须如此……我们必须在学习神的过程中,寻求被引导到神面前。”

在那些认识巴刻时间最久并最了解巴刻的人对他的许多悼词中,我们会发现他的许多成就和职位,从他在牛津大学的学术研究,到他关于清教徒救赎观的论文,到他作为牧师、图书馆员、校长的岁月,他在维真神学院(Regent College)的教授职位,以及他多年来担任重要出版物和项目的编辑和总编等。我们认识巴刻个人的时间很短。但这才是真正的重点,不是吗?因为即使是对我们这些接触最少的人来说,巴刻博士,你帮助我们认识了上帝。

凯莉·萨尔曼在达拉斯神学院获得神学硕士学位,有20余年的写作、编辑和辅导作者经验。

最受欢迎

更多观点与评论文章

Recommended

CP VOICES

Engaging views and analysis from outside contributors on the issues affecting society and faith today.

CP VOICES do not necessarily reflect the views of The Christian Post. Opinions expressed are solely those of the author(s).

Current Page:  Voices | | Coronavirus →

The man who helped us know God: A tribute to JI Packer

JI Packer
Theologian J. I. Packer talks about mortification. |

James Innell Packer, known to friends as Jim and to millions as J.I. Packer, died July 17 at the age of 93. A highly respected theologian and prolific writer, he authored more than 165 works, including one of the all-time bestselling Christian books, Knowing God (1973).

To Marcus Avery, he was a gift used by the Holy Spirit to salvage his life. For over 15 years, Avery read daily in select books about the doctrine of God, books by A.W. Tozer, Arthur Pink, Stephen Charnock, and, of course, Packer. A once “wayward son without Christ as first love,” he said, “I discovered through the writings of these spiritual giants that God was good and desirable and enjoyable.” So, as he came to know Packer through many phone conversations during the past three years, his gratitude for the privilege of Packer’s mentorship sometimes broke through in heartfelt tears.

Avery sought out Packer’s insight and blessing as we began a project to help newer generations rediscover some of these writings of the past, especially those that help us understand God’s person and attributes. Although the aging Packer had reduced his workload, he graciously consented to support us with his consulting and prayers, saying, “I can see the God Seekers project as an extension of my own ministry.”

“If I had my life to live over, I would write more on the doctrine of God,” Packer said.

In the generous spirit of servant ministry that Packer lived all his years, he would name Avery “dear brother” even when Packer’s wife, Kit, brought Avery’s phone call to him at the dinner table. He offered content suggestions and encouraged us to continue, to write on these essential theological concepts in an understandable, engaging, and loving way.

For that charge, we must look to him as the example to follow. He communicated his fervent love for God and also his love for his audience. He set all of us right about the person of God and made us glad that he did so. He unveiled to us a God whom we may have never before known, a God who is powerful, loving, and generous, a triune Savior.

His depth of writing and teaching has been embraced by laity, students, pastors, and church leaders across most denominational and sectarian lines and by many in the worldwide spiritual community. And yet he never stopped seeking to learn. “To be a disciple of Christ means to be a learner,” he said.

Packer set personal priorities to facilitate sound theological teaching in the church, along with the discipling and training that should follow. He gave strict attention to his own theological understanding and personal relationship with God. Through diligent study, prayer, and ministry, he loved the Lord his God with all his heart, soul, mind, and strength.

He was driven not just to discuss the lukewarm status of what he called “the wandering church” and its need for more Christ-centered teaching, Spirit-led ministry, and spiritual growth but also to pray on behalf of the church, for correction and support. To that end, perhaps the greatest tribute we can make to J.I. Packer is to quote some of his own words, because we must know that even now, he is interceding for us, face-to-face with the Lord, for us to understand.

Concerning Psalm 119, he wrote, “You will see that the psalmist’s concern to get knowledge about God was not a theoretical but a practical concern. His supreme desire was to know and enjoy God Himself, and he valued knowledge about God simply as a means to this end. He wanted to understand God’s truth in order that his heart might respond to it and his life be conformed to it. … This must be our attitude too. … We must seek, in studying God, to be led to God.”

In the many tributes to Packer by those who knew him longest and best, we will find the lists of accomplishments and appointments, from his Oxford scholarship to his dissertation on a Puritan view of salvation, to his years as priest, librarian, principal, his professorship at Regent College, and his many years as editor and general editor for important publications and projects. We knew Packer personally only a short while. But that’s really the point, isn’t it? Because even for the least of us, Dr. Packer, you helped us know God.

Kelli Sallman has a Master of Theology degree from Dallas Theological Seminary and has spent 20 years writing and editing for publication and mentoring writers as they develop their books. Coauthor of Martin E. Hawkin’s book, The Associate Pastor: Second Chair, Not Second Best, Sallman is a member of the Christian Editor Connection, a contributing writer for Made to Flourish, and writes regularly for her digital journal and blog, Inklings & Inspiration. She also assists and advises Marcus Avery, award-winning film producer, writer, and director whose credits include Fox, Vox, PBS networks as well as major film releases.

Free CP Newsletters

Join over 250,000 others to get the top stories curated daily, plus special offers!

Sponsored

Most Popular

More In Opinion