Recommended

当前页面: 观点与评论 |
当你背上的十字架太重时

当你背上的十字架太重时

为天父工作和为地上的任何老板工作都大有不同。当家人看到你为天父工作时,光是想想你都在做什么,就觉得你应该是脑子有点问题。即便如此,我们每个人都还是要背起我们的十字架,跟随耶稣。我们会在人生中不止一次经历生命中的“刺”(哥林多后书12章7节,译者注)。我们在地上的呼召是担起神给予的属天的爱的重担,并将这永恒的爱去给到特定的一群人。


马太福音16章24到27节:“于是耶稣对门徒说‘若有人要跟从我,就当舍己,背起他的十字架来跟从我。因为凡要救起自己生命的,必丧掉生命。人若赚得全世界,赔上自己的生命,有什么益处呢?人还能拿什么换生命呢?人子要在他父的荣耀里,同着众使者降临;那时候,他要照各人的行为报应各人。’”


背起十架跟随耶稣不是一个建议,而是一个要求。它始于你对于救恩的真实体验,它要求我们开始在生命中将神的国置于首位,并同时真正地去向自我,向自我的意志、梦想、个人目标而死。

这么多年以来,在我所认识的人中,我已经记不清有多少人放弃了他们个人的职业生涯,顺服了神的呼召成为了神职人员。他们当中不乏医生,律师,工程师,亦或是普通职员——他们如同当时耶稣的门徒一样——放弃了自己的事业,回应了神的呼召跟随了耶稣。

背起自己的十字架不只是泛指我们一生的选择,同时意味着我们生命中的每一天都要重新背上我们的十字架,舍己跟从基督。你的内心可能已经自动略过了这件事,因为不管你是否意识到,聪明的市场营销和基于世俗人文主义和利我主义的哲学已经被灌输进了你的整个人生。也正因为如此,你里面有无数个声音尖叫着:“我知道,但我想要……”与此同时,圣灵那稍显微弱的声音也在回应道:“我也知道,但我需要你……”


以及不幸的是,父母对你一直以来的教导也是把自己放在第一位,之后再去给予别人你所余剩的。然而耶稣说:“如果你想要服事我,那么在你的人生抱负和日常选择上你都要舍弃自己,背起自己的十字架,这样才是跟从我。”顺服并不是一件易事,但是靠着那加给我们力量的基督,我们凡事都能做(腓立比书4章13节)。


每一个身处服事中的人,都会经历我们人生中的刺。在哥林多后书12章7-10节中保罗的教导是:“又恐怕我所得的启示甚大,就过于自高,所以有一根刺加在我肉体上,就是撒但的差役要攻击我,免得我过于自高。为这事,我三次求过主,叫这刺离开我。他对我说:‘我的恩典够你用的,因为我的能力是在人的软弱上显得完全’”。


我们都明白事奉我们永生的神是一件极具荣耀的事情。然而,我们每个人内心里面都会有一场争战。在面对自己的成就时,我们与由此产生的骄傲争战,正如保罗说的那样“恐怕我所得的启示甚大,就过于自高,”我也曾不得不忍受这刺,因它使我谦卑!


人天生会被拥有领导气质的人所吸引。很多人都在寻找一个超级明星或者一个他们可以仰望的人。但是真相是,神允许我们生命中的那些挑战存在,是因为祂要提醒我们以及我们周围的人们,我们都是人,我们都不完美。以赛亚书42章8节中说:“我是耶和华,这是我的名,我必不将我的荣耀归给假神。”神对待这件事上是很认真的,所以祂在我们的呼召中掺入一根刺,一根能使我们认识到神之所以配得这荣耀是因为正是祂成就了这件事。


当我们背起十字架,走过这片神允许放在我们生命中的荆棘时,我们也是在接受神的呼召去担起一个重担。加拉太书6章2节已经说明:“你们各人的重担要互相担当,如此,就完全了基督的律法。”神那无法完全用言语表述的爱会从天上流淌下来,流入并充满每个人的心,每个被祂呼召的人的心。这样的爱就是我们每个人心里的负担。我们每日将带着爱的负担前行。对于牧者来讲,这负担是对你牧养的会众的爱,是看到每个成员灵命上的成长。对宣教士来讲,这负担是对居住在那片异国土地上的人民强烈的爱。对福音布道者来讲,是看到大批的人归顺基督。对那些从事真正的先知事工的人来讲,这负担是福音的复兴。这样的负担或重担会根植在你的内心深处。即使在你周围会有很多人不理解你的负担,但这爱的负担会强烈影响你对人生的选择,使你在做任何事情的时候都能够将神的国放在首位。


这些困难和苦楚正是凸显了我们受召去做的永恒之工的价值。一个永恒里面的灵魂价值几许?罗马书8章18节说,“我想,现在的苦楚比起将来要显于我们的荣耀就不足介意了。”在某一天,当你感到身上的十架过于沉重,你生命中的荆棘过于刺痛,你心里的担子过于辛苦,请记得那首赞美诗所唱的“见到耶稣那一刻,过去一切都值得!”

(翻译:Gissel)

诺兰·J·哈克尼斯牧师(Nolan J Harkness)是Nolan Harkness Evangelistic Ministries Inc的总裁兼首席执行官。

最受欢迎

更多观点与评论文章

Recommended

CP VOICES

Engaging views and analysis from outside contributors on the issues affecting society and faith today.

CP VOICES do not necessarily reflect the views of The Christian Post. Opinions expressed are solely those of the author(s).

Current Page: Voices | | Coronavirus →
When your cross feels too heavy

When your cross feels too heavy

Rev. Nolan J. Harkness is the President and CEO of Nolan Harkness Evangelistic Ministries Inc. | Courtesy of Nolan Harkness

Working for the Heavenly Father bears no resemblance to working for any kind of earthly administrator. When you work for the Father, your family often writes you off as slightly mentally ill for even considering doing the things that you do. Regardless of this, each one of us will have to take up our cross and follow Christ. We will experience at least one thorn in our lives. We will be called to carry a Heaven-sent burden of the eternal love of God for a special group of people while here on the earth. 

Matthew 16:24-27 states, “Then Jesus said to His disciple, 'If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me. For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it. For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world and loses his own soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul? For the Son of Man will come in the glory of his Father and with His angels, and then He will reward each according to his works.'”(NKJV)

Taking up our cross to follow Jesus into the ministry is not a suggestion, it is a requirement. It starts with a true salvation experience, which requires us to truly die to ourselves, to our will, to our dreams, and to our personal goals as we begin to seek first the Kingdom of God above all else.

I cannot tell you how many individuals I've known throughout the years who gave up professional careers to obey the calling to become ministers. They were doctors, lawyers, engineers, and even everyday common men — as were the disciples — who were called to lay down their careers to follow Jesus.

Not only must we take up our cross in a general way for our whole lives, but we must also take up our cross on a daily basis, denying ourselves and following Christ. Probably this will short circuit your own personal inner-wiring because, whether you realize it or not, clever marketing and a culture based on secular humanism and self-entitlement philosophies have systematically indoctrinated you throughout your whole life. Because of this, everything within you might scream, “Yes but I want…..!” Meanwhile, that still small voice of the Holy Spirit replies, “Yes but I need you to…”

Unfortunately, even your parents may have raised you to put yourself first, then give from whatever is left! Jesus says, “If you are going to serve me, you have to follow me by denying yourself and taking up your own cross both in regard to your life ambitions and in your everyday choices.” Obeying will be difficult, but we can do all things through Christ, who gives us strength (Philippians 4:13). 

Each of us in ministry will experience a thorn in our lives. In 2 Corinthians 12:7-10, Paul teaches, “And lest I should be exalted above measure, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure. Concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me. And He said unto me ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my strength is made perfect in weakness.’”

You see it is a very honorable thing to serve the Living God. However, but we all have a battle of within ourselves. We battle our own tendencies to become prideful about our accomplishments, and as Paul says here, “Lest I should be exalted above measure,” I had to endure being humbled by this thorn!

By nature, people tend to be enamored by leaders. Many people are looking for a superstar or someone they can put up on a pedestal. The truth is, God must allow challenges in our lives to remind both us, and those around us, that we are imperfect humans. Isaiah 42:8a states, “I am the Lord, and that is my name, and my glory I will not give to another.” Since God takes this matter very seriously, He makes sure our callings include a thorn, which ensures He gets the credit for what He does. 

As we are to take up our cross and endure a God-permitted thorn, we are also called to carry a burden. Galatians 6:2 instructs, “Carry each others’ burdens, and in this way you fulfill the law of Christ.” God’s love will fill the heart of anyone called by Him with an unexplainable heavenly love. This love will be your personal burden. You will carry this love daily. For pastors, it is a love for your congregation and a burden to see each member grow spiritually. For missionaries, it is a tremendous love for the people of a foreign country. For those who are evangelists, it is to see the masses come to Christ. For those in true prophetic ministry, it is a burden for revival. The burden will be deep in your heart. Even though many around you will not understand your burden, it will strongly affect your life’s choices. It will cause you to put God’s kingdom first in all you do. 

These difficulties and pains are just endorsements of the value of the eternal work we are called to. Just how much is one eternal soul worth? In Romans 8:18, Paul said, “For I consider that the sufferings of this time are not worthy to be compared with the glory that is to be revealed in us.” Any day that your cross seems too heavy, your thorn too painful to bear, and your burden too heavy to carry, remember the hymn lyric that tells us “It will be worth it all when we see Jesus!”

Rev Nolan J Harkness is the President and CEO of Nolan Harkness Evangelistic Ministries Inc. since 1985. He spent most of his adult life working in youth ministry. He also felt the calling of Evangelist/Revivalist and traveled as the door was open holding evangelistic meetings in churches throughout the Northeast. His website is www.verticalsound.org.

Sponsored