5 Things You Need to Know About DACA and What Happens Next

Credit :

4. States threatened to sue if DACA was not rescinded.

Attorneys general from 10 conservative states threatened to take legal action against the Trump administration if it did not act by Sept. 5 to rescind DACA.

The top legal officers for the states of Texas, Louisiana, Alabama, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Nebraska, Tennessee, West Virginia, and South Carolina signed onto a letter sent to Attorney Gen. Jeff Sessions in late June explaining that if the Department of Homeland Security discontinued the DACA program, the states would drop their lawsuit pending in the Southern District of Texas.

"Otherwise, the complaint in that case will be amended to challenge both the DACA program and the remaining Expanded DACA permits," the letter reads in part.

Get Our Latest News for FREE

Subscribe to get daily/weekly email with the top stories (plus special offers!) from The Christian Post. Be the first to know.

Now that the administration has announced that it will roll back the DACA program, 15 blue states and the District of Columbia have filed a lawsuit against the administration. Those states are New Mexico, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Massachusetts, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia and Washington.

Follow Samuel Smith on Twitter: @IamSamSmith Follow Samuel Smith on Facebook: SamuelSmithCP

Was this article helpful?

Help keep The Christian Post free for everyone.

By making a recurring donation or a one-time donation of any amount, you're helping to keep CP's articles free and accessible for everyone.

We’re sorry to hear that.

Hope you’ll give us another try and check out some other articles. Return to homepage.

Most Popular

More Articles